Delivery update

Please be aware that some orders may take a few days longer than normal to arrive. See our delivery FAQ for more details.

Chance Witness

An Outsider's Life in Politics

Matthew Parris

(author)

Paperback
With a First from Cambridge and the possibility of working for the Foreign Office, the author decided instead to apply to be an apprentice diesel-fitter with London Transport. He was rejected and so turned to a life in politics. This title offers an account of a young life already well lived.
Not currently in stock, but more on the way
SKU
9780241968291
£9.99

Worldwide delivery available. Read more...

Return purchased items within 30 days for a full refund.

"She has put us on notice that we talk about race by not talking about it"

The Guardian

Chance Witness by Matthew Parris - a hilarious and fascinating portrait of life in politics, from Thatcher to Blair

Winner of the Channel 4 / Politico's Political Book of the Year Award

'Made me laugh out loud. A book full of wisdom' Simon Hoggart, Guardian

In this surprising and eccentric autobiography from a former Conservative MP, Matthew Parris writes of his personal and political life with equal candour. With a First from Cambridge and the possibility of working for the Foreign Office, he decided instead to apply to be an apprentice diesel-fitter with London Transport. He was rejected and so turned to a life in politics. He has worked with Margaret Thatcher, Chris Patten, Tony Blair and Michael Portillo, and his observations of political lifeand those who move within it are truly fascinating. This colourful memoir is an account of a young life already well lived.

For readers of Margaret Thatcher by Charles Moore, and fans of The End of the Party by Andrew Rawnsley, this is a fascinating glimpse into modern British politics.

'A five-star autobiography. Dazzling, hilarious and wonderful' Sunday Times

Matthew Parris was born in Johannesburg in 1949. He was a Conservative MP from 1979 to 1986, since when he has worked as a journalist. He is the author of A Castle in Spain, the acclaimed story of his medieval home in L'Avenc, as well as the bestselling books Parting Shots and A Spanish Ambassador's Suitcase, both based on the BBC Radio 4 series. He divides his time between Derbyshire (where his old constituency was situated) and east London.

More Information
Book publisherPenguin Books Ltd
Publication date25 Jul 2013
FormatPaperback
Pages560
Write Your Own Review
You're reviewing:Chance Witness
Newsletter Fashion Box
WANT A DISCOUNT?