Delivery update

Please be aware that some orders may take a few days longer than normal to arrive. See our delivery FAQ for more details.

Fighting Monsters

A first-hand account of battling ISIS

Jim Matthews

(author)

Paperback
After years as a revolutionary, anti-war protestor, former British soldier Jim Matthews gives up a lucrative teaching career to return to fight ISIS alongside Kurdish forces in Syria. But what drives his return to this conflict zone? Does he miss war?
In stock
SKU
9781912624003
Price £8.36 RRP £8.99

Worldwide delivery available. Read more...

All UK orders sent via tracked delivery

Return purchased items within 30 days for a full refund.

"a tribute to our better natures"

The Guardian

Fighting Monsters: A first-hand account of battling ISIS A01 By (author) N Jim Matthews 198 129 26 264 BC Paperback / softback Mirror Books Mirror Books United Kingdom HBJF1 Middle Eastern history BM Memoirs HBWS Military history: post WW2 conflicts JWLF Battles & campaigns 1FBS Syria 3JM 21st century 1.3 DNC NHWR9 NHWR NHWL JWLF NHG Memoirs Military history: post-WW2 conflicts Specific wars & campaigns Modern warfare Battles & campaigns Middle Eastern history After years as a revolutionary, anti-war protestor, former British soldier Jim Matthews gives up a lucrative teaching career to return to fight ISIS alongside Kurdish forces in Syria. But what drives his return to this conflict zone? Does he miss war? Former British soldier Jim Matthews hit the headlines when he was arrested on terrorism charges - for fighting against ISIS. Jim gave up a lucrative career teaching English in Saudi Arabia, and headed to Northern Syria to fight ISIS. But why, after years as a left-leaning, anti-war protestor, did he find himself pulled once more into a conflict zone? Did he miss war? What is the reality for those fighting ISIS in their own country, and for those like Jim who join that fight? This book attempts to explain, in his words, what it's like there... An intelligent and evocative memoir, Fighting Monsters explores the reasons for one man's war, while bringing to life the twisted roads, broken border towns and dusty battlefields of Syria and Iraq. Ideal for fans of Jason Fox's Battle Scars and Ant Middleton's First Man In. 'So vivid you can hear the bullets fly' Daily Mail * Daily Mail * Jim Matthews is a former British soldier who fought for a year in the ranks of Kurdish-led forces against Daesh (IS/ISIS/ISIL) in Northern Syria - an area known as Rojava by the Kurds. He wrote Fighting Monsters to give a frank insider's view of the situation, often inaccessible to journalists. 13062019 02 RRP including tax GB GBP 8.99 0.00 8.99 This price includes a tax element GB 20 Available 56 ARGOSY BERT GARD Y


Former British soldier Jim Matthews hit the headlines when he was arrested on terrorism charges - for fighting
against ISIS.

Jim gave up a lucrative career teaching English in Saudi Arabia, and headed to Northern Syria to fight ISIS. But why, after years as a left-leaning, anti-war protestor, did he find himself pulled once more into a conflict zone?

Did he miss war?

What is the reality for those fighting ISIS in their own country, and for those like Jim who join that fight? This book attempts to explain, in his words, what it's like there...

An intelligent and evocative memoir, Fighting Monsters explores the reasons for one man's war, while bringing to life the twisted roads, broken border towns and dusty battlefields of Syria and Iraq.

Ideal for fans of Jason Fox's Battle Scars and Ant Middleton's First Man In.

More Information
Book publisherMirror Books
Publication date13 Jun 2019
FormatPaperback
Write Your Own Review
You're reviewing:Fighting Monsters
Newsletter Fashion Box
WANT A DISCOUNT?