Delivery update

Please be aware that some orders may take a few days longer than normal to arrive. See our delivery FAQ for more details.

Firewatching

Russ Thomas

(author)

Hardback
For fans of Adrian McKinty, Sharon Bolton, Ian Rankin and Broadchurch, this is the gripping, unmissable first novel in the DS Adam Tyler series.
In stock
SKU
9781471180927
Price £11.30 RRP £12.99

Worldwide delivery available. Read more...

All UK orders sent via tracked delivery

Return purchased items within 30 days for a full refund.

"a tribute to our better natures"

The Guardian

Firewatching A01 By (author) N Russ Thomas 234 153 30 BB Hardback 432 Simon & Schuster Ltd Simon & Schuster Ltd London United Kingdom FH Thriller / suspense FF Crime & mystery FA Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945) 1.3 FH FF FBA Thriller / suspense fiction Crime & mystery fiction Modern & contemporary fiction For fans of Adrian McKinty, Sharon Bolton, Ian Rankin and Broadchurch, this is the gripping, unmissable first novel in the DS Adam Tyler series. 'Clever and compulsive' LOUISE CANDLISH 'I loved it' LEE CHILD 'Devoured in three days' SARAH HILARY 'Totally absorbed me' CASS GREEN 'A bold and brilliant new voice in crime fiction' KATE RHODES 'A fantastic read' JAMES DELARGY # ONE WRONG MOVE A body is found bricked into the walls of a house. From the state of the hands, it's clear the dead man was buried alive. Soon, the victim is linked to an old missing person's case and DS Adam Tyler is called. WILL IGNITE As the sole representative of South Yorkshire's Cold Case Review Unit, Tyler recognises his role for what it is - a means of keeping him out of the way following an 'incident'. When this case falls in his lap, he grabs the opportunity to fix his stagnating career. THE CITY And then Tyler discovers he has a connection to the case that hopelessly compromises him. He makes the snap decision not to tell his superiors, certain that he and only he can solve the crime. But now Tyler must move carefully to find out the truth, without destroying the case or himself. Meanwhile, someone in the city knows exactly what happened to the body. Someone who is watching Adam closely. Someone with an unhealthy affinity with fire. . . A taut investigative thriller bursting with character and tension, introducing an enigmatic, fresh lead detective unlike any you have met before - Detective Sergeant Adam Tyler - for fans of Adrian McKinty, Tana French, Steve Cavanagh and Sharon Bolton. ***PRAISE FOR FIREWATCHING*** 'In the clever and compulsiveFirewatching, DS Adam Tyler navigates a complex cast of villains and victims in a cold case that suddenly turns very, very hot' LOUISE CANDLISH 'A pitch-perfect blend of the best of the old and the best of the new . . . I loved it' LEE CHILD 'Devoured in three days. A cracking read with a terrific new detective lead. Red hot debut for 2020' SARAH HILARY 'I loved Firewatching. Russ Thomas is a bold and brilliant new voice in crime fiction, his talent blazes as fiercely as the flames that rage through his book. Really wonderful, imaginative writing' KATE RHODES 'A fantastic read with a plot that left me guessing and a cast of very real and well imagined characters.' JAMES DELARGY 'A great read. Totally absorbed me' CASS GREEN 'Intelligent, pacy and compelling, it's everything you could want from a crime novel' SARAH WARD, author of the DC Childs mysteries # Russ Thomas was born in Essex, raised in Berkshire and now lives in Sheffield. He grew up in the 80s reading anything he could get from the library, writing stories, watching large amounts of television, playing videogames, and largely avoiding the great outdoors. He spent five years trying to master playing the electronic organ and another five trying to learn Spanish. It didn't take him too long to realise that he'd be better off sticking to the writing. After a few 'proper' jobs (among them: pot-washer, optician's receptionist, supermarket warehouse operative, call-centre telephonist and storage salesman) he discovered the joys of bookselling, where he could talk to people about books all day. His debut novel Firewatching is the first book in the D/S Adam Tyler series. 20022020 02 RRP including tax GB GBP 12.99 0.00 12.99 This price includes a tax element GB 30 Temporarily unavailable 1 BERT GARD Y 'Clever and compulsive' LOUISE CANDLISH
'I loved it' LEE CHILD
'Devoured in three days' SARAH HILARY
'Totally absorbed me' CASS GREEN
'A bold and brilliant new voice in crime fiction' KATE RHODES
'A fantastic read' JAMES DELARGY

#
ONE WRONG MOVE
A body is found bricked into the walls of a house. From the state of the hands, it's clear the dead man was buried alive. Soon, the victim is linked to an old missing person's case and DS Adam Tyler is called.
WILL IGNITE
As the sole representative of South Yorkshire's Cold Case Review Unit, Tyler recognises his role for what it is - a means of keeping him out of the way following an 'incident'. When this case falls in his lap, he grabs the opportunity to fix his stagnating career.
THE CITY
And then Tyler discovers he has a connection to the case that hopelessly compromises him. He makes the snap decision not to tell his superiors, certain that he and only he can solve the crime. But now Tyler must move carefully to find out the truth, without destroying the case or himself.

Meanwhile, someone in the city knows exactly what happened to the body. Someone who is watching Adam closely. Someone with an unhealthy affinity with fire. . .

A taut investigative thriller bursting with character and tension, introducing an enigmatic, fresh lead detective unlike any you have met before - Detective Sergeant Adam Tyler - for fans of Adrian McKinty, Tana French, Steve Cavanagh and Sharon Bolton.

***PRAISE FOR FIREWATCHING***


'In the clever and compulsiveFirewatching, DS Adam Tyler navigates a complex cast of villains and victims in a cold case that suddenly turns very, very hot' LOUISE CANDLISH

'A pitch-perfect blend of the best of the old and the best of the new . . . I loved it' LEE CHILD

'Devoured in three days. A cracking read with a terrific new detective lead. Red hot debut for 2020' SARAH HILARY

'I loved Firewatching. Russ Thomas is a bold and brilliant new voice in crime fiction, his talent blazes as fiercely as the flames that rage through his book. Really wonderful, imaginative writing' KATE RHODES

'A fantastic read with a plot that left me guessing and a cast of very real and well imagined characters.' JAMES DELARGY

'A great read. Totally absorbed me' CASS GREEN

'Intelligent, pacy and compelling, it's everything you could want from a crime novel' SARAH WARD, author of the DC Childs mysteries

#
More Information
Book publisherSimon & Schuster Ltd
Publication date20 Feb 2020
FormatHardback
Pages432
Write Your Own Review
You're reviewing:Firewatching
Newsletter Fashion Box
WANT A DISCOUNT?