The House of Impossible Beauties: 'Equal parts attitude, intelligence and eyeliner.' - Marlon James
The House of Impossible Beauties: 'Equal parts attitude, intelligence and eyeliner.' - Marlon James

The House of Impossible Beauties: 'Equal parts attitude, intelligence and eyeliner.' - Marlon James

Joseph Cassara
Paperback
RRP £8.99 Our price £7.91 You save £1.08 (12%)
Not in stock at the moment, but more on the way
The House of Impossible Beauties: 'Equal parts attitude, intelligence and eyeliner.' - Marlon James is available to buy in increments of 1

Book description
NAMED A MOST ANTICIPATED BOOK OF 2018 BY Buzzfeed * Esquire * Bustle * The Millions * The Wall Street Journal * Entertainment Weekly * Nylon * Elle * Dazed * The Irish Times



'Cassara has written a heartbreaking tale of gay men struggling to survive in a world of clubbing and drugs. It is also an unexpected love story.' Graham Norton, Top Five Reads of 2018



'Cassaras's propulsive and profound first novel, finding one's home in the world - particularly in a subculture plagued by fear and intolerance from society - comes with tragedy as well as extraordinary personal freedom.' Esquire



A gritty and gorgeous debut inspired by the real House of Xtravaganza made famous by the seminal documentary Paris Is Burning



It's 1980 in New York City, and nowhere is the city's glamour and energy better reflected than in the burgeoning Harlem ballroom scene, where seventeen-year-old Angel first comes into her own. Burned by her traumatic past, Angel is new to the drag world, and has a yearning to help create a family for those without. When she falls in love with Hector, a beautiful young man who dreams of becoming a professional dancer, the two decide to form the House of Xtravaganza, the first-ever all-Latino house in the ballroom circuit.



Into the house come Venus, a whip-smart trans girl who dreams of finding a rich man to take care of her; Juanito, a quiet boy who loves fabrics and design; and Daniel, a butch queen who accidentally saves Venus' life. The Xtravaganzas must learn to navigate work, addiction and persistent abuse, leaning on each other as bulwarks against a world that resists them. All are ambitious, resilient and determined to control their own fates, even as they hurtle toward devastating consequences.



Told in a voice that brims with wit, rage, tenderness, and fierce yearning, The House of Impossible Beauties is a tragic story of love, family, and the dynamism of the human spirit. For fans of A Little Life and My Absolute Darling.

Product details
More Information
ISBN 9781786074409
Publisher Oneworld Publications
Format Paperback
Pages 416
Publication date 4 October 2018

Customer reviews
Write Your Own Review
We'd love to hear what you thought of this book, log in or register to leave your review

Delivery & returns

Free UK delivery on all online orders over £15. First class, international and UK next day delivery options are available at additional cost. Please see our delivery and returns page for full information.

You may also like...