Thank you for shopping with us
every book you buy helps support our independent journalism

How We Disappeared

LONGLISTED FOR THE WOMEN'S PRIZE FOR FICTION 2020

Jing-Jing Lee

(author)

Hardback
A beautiful, stunningly ambitious tale of endurance, identity, and memory, for fans of Min Jin Lee's Pachinko and Georgia Hunter's We Were the Lucky Ones.
In stock
SKU
9781786074126
Price £13.04 RRP £14.99

Worldwide delivery available. Read more...

Return purchased items within 30 days for a full refund.

Neuroscientist Dean Burnett's new book on mental health

"Compelling and wise and rational" – Jon Ronson

Shortlisted for the 2020 Singapore Literature Prize

Longlisted for the HWA Debut Crown

Singapore, 1942. As Japanese troops sweep down Malaysia and into Singapore, a village is ransacked. Only three survivors remain, one of them a tiny child.

In a neighbouring village, seventeen-year-old Wang Di is bundled into the back of a troop carrier and shipped off to a Japanese military rape camp. In the year 2000, her mind is still haunted by her experiences there, but she has long been silent about her memories of that time. It takes twelve-year-old Kevin, and the mumbled confession he overhears from his ailing grandmother, to set in motion a journey into the unknown to discover the truth.

Weaving together two timelines and two life-changing secrets, How We Disappeared is an evocative, profoundly moving and utterly dazzling novel heralding the arrival of a new literary star.

More Information
Book publisherOneworld Publications
Publication date2 May 2019
FormatHardback
Pages352
Write Your Own Review
You're reviewing:How We Disappeared

Recently reviewed in the Guardian and the Observer

Newsletter Fashion Box
WANT A DISCOUNT?