In Our Mad and Furious City: Winner of the International Dylan Thomas Prize
In Our Mad and Furious City: Winner of the International Dylan Thomas Prize

In Our Mad and Furious City: Winner of the International Dylan Thomas Prize

Guy Gunaratne
Hardback
RRP £12.99 Our price £11.43 You save £1.56 (12%)
Out of print

Book description


This book is out now in paperback


'What a voice. What an ear for language... a brave and original piece of work' Kit de Waal, author of THE TRICK TO TIME

'A swaggering yet tender debut' Observer

Singled out by the Guardian as one of its Fresh Voices: 50 Writers to Read Now, Guy Gunaratne's blistering first novel IN OUR MAD AND FURIOUS CITY is an unforgettable portrait of two days on a London housing estate that will appeal to fans of THIS IS ENGLAND or LA HAINE.

For Selvon, Ardan and Yusuf, growing up under the towers of Stones Estate, summer means what it does anywhere: football, music, freedom. But now, after the killing of a British soldier, riots are spreading across the city, and nowhere is safe.

While the fury swirls around them, Selvon and Ardan remain focused on their own obsessions, girls and grime. Their friend Yusuf is caught up in a different tide, a wave of radicalism surging through his local mosque, threatening to carry his troubled brother, Irfan, with it.

Provocative, raw, poetic yet tender, IN OUR MAD AND FURIOUS CITY marks the arrival of a major new talent in fiction.

Product details
More Information
ISBN 9781472250193
Publisher Headline Publishing Group
Format Hardback
Pages 304
Publication date 19 April 2018

Customer reviews
Write Your Own Review
We'd love to hear what you thought of this book, log in or register to leave your review

Delivery & returns

Free UK delivery on all online orders over £15. First class, international and UK next day delivery options are available at additional cost. Please see our delivery and returns page for full information.

You may also like...