Delivery update

Please be aware that some orders may take a few days longer than normal to arrive. See our delivery FAQ for more details.

Monstrous Devices

THE TIMES CHILDREN'S BOOK OF THE WEEK

Damien Love

(author)

Hardback
A cinematic and original page-turner for fans of Indiana Jones and Alex Rider
In stock
SKU
9781786077523
Price £11.30 RRP £12.99

Worldwide delivery available. Read more...

All UK orders sent via tracked delivery

Return purchased items within 30 days for a full refund.

"a tribute to our better natures"

The Guardian

Monstrous Devices: THE TIMES CHILDREN'S BOOK OF THE WEEK A01 By (author) N Damien Love 201 135 30 BB Hardback 352 Oneworld Publications Oneworld Publications London United Kingdom YFG Science fiction (Children's / Teenage) YFC Adventure stories (Children's / Teenage) YFH Fantasy & magical realism (Children's / Teenage) 1.3 YFG YFC YFH Children's / Teenage fiction: Science fiction Children's / Teenage fiction: Action & adventure stories Children's / Teenage fiction: Fantasy 'I enjoyed everything about Damien Love's debut.' Anthony Horowitz, bestselling author of the Alex Rider series 'Hugely original, exciting debut novel... a fantastical but entirely believable world with scary killer robots oiled to perfection with automaton history, surprising characters and dry humour... Get hold of a copy, wind it up and let yourself go.' The Times 'An effortless, atmospheric evocation of place and history combine in an unforgettable, immersive reading experience.' Guardian When twelve-year-old Alex receives an old tin robot in the post, the note from his grandfather simply reads: 'This one is special'. But as strange events start occurring around him, it doesn't take Alex long to suspect that the small toy is more than special; it might also be deadly. Just as things are getting out of hand, Alex's grandfather arrives, whisking him away from his otherwise humdrum life and into a world of strange, macabre magic. From Paris to Prague, they flee across snowy Europe in a quest to unravel the riddle of the little robot, and outwit relentless assassins of the human and mechanical kind. How does Alex's grandfather know them? And can Alex safely harness the robot's power, or will it fall into the wrong, wicked hands? 'A superbly assured debut... an effortless, atmospheric evocation of place and history combine in an immersive reading experience.' * Guardian * 'An effortless, atmospheric evocation of place and history combine in an unforgettable, immersive reading experience.' * Guardian * '"This one is special," says Alex's grandfather, when he sends our boy-hero a 1920s tin robot... I can say the same for this hugely original, exciting debut novel by Damien Love. He has built a fantastical but entirely believable world with scary killer robots oiled to perfection with automaton history, surprising characters and dry humour... Love writes with such confidence, fluency and voice that it's hard to imagine this is his first book. Get hold of a copy, wind it up and let yourself go.' * The Times * 'One of the most acclaimed, exciting new children's series in years... A hugely appealing adventure for all ages, which seems almost certain to be adapted for the screen.' * The Herald * 'I was gripped from the first page of Monstrous Devices by Scottish author Damien Love. It is making me look at robots suspiciously . . . and I can't wait to see what happens next!' * Scottish Book Trust * 'An ingenious tale, the familiar fights and flight scenario kept interesting by the figure of grandfather, a kind of ageing James Bond.' * Books for Keeps * 'A breakneck adventure story, told thrillingly.' * Sunday Times * 'Raiders of the Lost Ark meets Toy Story.' * Publishers Weekly * 'Monstrous Devices effortlessly brings mythic legend and modern life together in one exhilarating, breathless chase. With humour, relentless adventure, and true insight, he compels us to look closely at our wishes and illusions, at the dark and light forces of creation, at what really makes us tick.' * S. E. Grove, bestselling author of The Glass Sentence * 'Damien Love's Monstrous Devices is an atmospheric, adventure-packed debut, which will surely appeal to fans of Jonathan Stroud's immersive, multi-layered novels.' * Love Reading, debut of the month * 'This is an immensely entertaining adventure tale, with Scottish author Love's masterful manipulation of pacing alternately drawing out tension or speeding up life-and-death clashes to keep the pages furiously turning. Atmospheric and cinema ready.' * BCCB review * 'I enjoyed everything about Damien Love's debut - its title, its breakneck action, its sly sense of humour. If you imagine Rick and Morty colliding with early Spielberg, you get some idea of this delirious adventure...and I wouldn't be at all surprised to see it on the screen. I wish my first novel had been as imaginative and assured.' * Anthony Horowitz * 'A great read. The descriptive writing really created an incredible image in my mind of what was happening. Can't wait for the sequel.' * Max, aged 14 * 'Mysterious and frightening...a well-crafted adventure that's filled with desperate chases, narrow escapes, fight scenes, and twists.' * Publishers Weekly, starred review * 'The elements of the story are strong and put me on the edge of my seat throughout reading this masterpiece.' * Olly, aged 16 * 'What fun! An evil villain, a host of scary robots, big and small, and a hero with commendably bad personal habits. Loved it!' * John Flanagan, New York Times bestselling author of the Ranger's Apprentice series * 'A well-knit debut generously stocked with chills, thrills, and chancy exploits.' * Kirkus * 'The action was so gripping that I thought I was in the book... great for all young ages that love a fantasy filled with amazing description and daredevil stunts. Can't wait for the sequel!' * Barnaby, aged 11 * Damien Love was born in Scotland and lives in Glasgow, where, even as you read these words, it is raining. He is the author of several books on film and filmmakers, and is the TV critic for Scotland's broadsheet, The Sunday Herald. He has the ability to talk to cats, but there is no evidence that they understand him. Monstrous Devices is his first novel. Learn more at damienlove.com. 19032020 02 RRP including tax GB GBP 12.99 0.00 12.99 This price includes a tax element GB 20 Available 14 BERT GARD Y

'I enjoyed everything about Damien Love's debut.' Anthony Horowitz, bestselling author of the Alex Rider series

'Hugely original, exciting debut novel... a fantastical but entirely believable world with scary killer robots oiled to perfection with automaton history, surprising characters and dry humour... Get hold of a copy, wind it up and let yourself go.' The Times

'An effortless, atmospheric evocation of place and history combine in an unforgettable, immersive reading experience.' Guardian

When twelve-year-old Alex receives an old tin robot in the post, the note from his grandfather simply reads: 'This one is special'. But as strange events start occurring around him, it doesn't take Alex long to suspect that the small toy is more than special; it might also be deadly.

Just as things are getting out of hand, Alex's grandfather arrives, whisking him away from his otherwise humdrum life and into a world of strange, macabre magic. From Paris to Prague, they flee across snowy Europe in a quest to unravel the riddle of the little robot, and outwit relentless assassins of the human and mechanical kind. How does Alex's grandfather know them? And can Alex safely harness the robot's power, or will it fall into the wrong, wicked hands?

More Information
Book publisherOneworld Publications
Publication date19 Mar 2020
FormatHardback
Pages352
Write Your Own Review
You're reviewing:Monstrous Devices
Newsletter Fashion Box
WANT A DISCOUNT?