The Quantum Astrologer's Handbook: a history of the Renaissance mathematics that birthed imaginary numbers, probability, and the new physics of the universe

Michael Brooks
Hardback
RRP £16.99 Our price £14.61 You save £2.38 (14%)
 
In stock
SKU
9781911344407
£14.61
The Quantum Astrologer's Handbook: a history of the Renaissance mathematics that birthed imaginary numbers, probability, and the new physics of the universe is available to buy in increments of 1

Book description
A Daily Telegraph book of the year.



A book of science like no other, about a scientist like no other.



This is a landmark in science writing. It resurrects from the vaults of neglect the polymath Jerome Cardano, a Milanese of the sixteenth century. Who is he? A gambler and blasphemer, inventor and chancer, plagued by demons and anxieties, astrologer to kings, emperors and popes. This stubborn and unworldly man was the son of a lawyer and a brothel keeper, but also a gifted physician and the unacknowledged discoverer of the mathematical foundations of quantum physics. That is the argument of this charming and intoxicatingly clever book, which is truly original in its style, and in the manner of the modernists embodies in its very form its theories about the world.



The Quantum Astrologer's Handbook is a science book with the panache of a novel, for readers of Carlo Rovelli or Umberto Eco. It is a work of and about genius.

Product details
More Information
ISBN 9781911344407
Publisher Scribe Publications
Format Hardback
Pages 256
Publication date 12 October 2017

Customer reviews
Write Your Own Review
We'd love to hear what you thought of this book, log in or register to leave your review

Delivery & returns

Free UK delivery on all online orders over £10. First class, international and UK next day delivery options are available at additional cost. Please see our delivery and returns page for full information.

You may also like...