The Water Cure: LONGLISTED FOR THE MAN BOOKER PRIZE 2018
The Water Cure: LONGLISTED FOR THE MAN BOOKER PRIZE 2018

The Water Cure: LONGLISTED FOR THE MAN BOOKER PRIZE 2018

Sophie Mackintosh
Hardback
RRP £12.99 Our price £11.43 You save £1.56 (12%)
In stock
The Water Cure: LONGLISTED FOR THE MAN BOOKER PRIZE 2018 is available to buy in increments of 1

Book description
Discover the breakout literary debut of 2018 - the essential read for fans of Margaret Atwood's The Handmaid's Tale, Deborah Levy's Hot Milk and Emma Cline's The Girls

'A gripping, sinister fable' - MARGARET ATWOOD, via Twitter

'An extraordinary debut novel. Otherworldly, luminous, precise... She is writing the way that Sofia Coppola would shoot the end of the world' Guardian

Shortlisted for the Books Are My Bag Breakthrough Award

'Bold, inventive, haunting... With shades of Margaret Atwood and Eimear McBride, you'll be bowled over by it' Stylist

'Visceral, hypnotic... with one of my favourite endings I've read in a long while' The Pool

Imagine a world very close to our own: where women are not safe in their bodies, where desperate measures are required to raise a daughter. This is the story of Grace, Lia and Sky, kept apart from the world for their own good and taught the terrible things that every woman must learn about love. And it is the story of the men who come to find them - three strangers washed up by the sea, their gazes hungry and insistent, trailing desire and destruction in their wake.

The Water Cure is a fever dream, a blazing vision of suffering, sisterhood and transformation.

'If you're a fan of The Handmaid's Tale you'll love this one' Evening Standard

'Immensely assured, calmly devastating' Katherine Angel, author of Unmastered

'A work of cool, claustrophobic beauty' Eli Goldstone, author of Strange Heart Beating

'Eerily beautiful, strange [and] unsettling' Paula Hawkins, author of The Girl on the Train

'Otherworldly, brutal and poetic: a feminist fable set by the sea, a female Lord of the Flies. It transported me, savaged me, filled me with hope and fear. It felt like a book I'd been waiting to read for a long time' Emma Jane Unsworth, author of Animals

Product details
More Information
ISBN 9780241334744
Publisher Penguin Books Ltd
Format Hardback
Pages 256
Publication date 24 May 2018

Customer reviews
Write Your Own Review
We'd love to hear what you thought of this book, log in or register to leave your review

Delivery & returns

Free UK delivery on all online orders over £15. First class, international and UK next day delivery options are available at additional cost. Please see our delivery and returns page for full information.

You may also like...