Thank you for shopping with us
every book you buy helps support our independent journalism

Blood & Sugar

Laura Shepherd-Robinson

(author)

Paperback
1781. An investigation into a gruesome murder on the Deptford Docks leads to a dark secret that could change the very core of British society . . .
In stock
SKU
9781509880799
Price £8.36 RRP £8.99

Worldwide delivery available. Read more...

Return purchased items within 30 days for a full refund.

The inside story of the Oxford AstraZeneca vaccine

Chosen as the Observer’s book of the week

'A page-turner of a crime thriller . . . This is a world conveyed with convincing, terrible clarity' - C. J. Sansom

Winner of the HWA Debut Crown 2019
Winner of the Specsavers Debut Crime Novel Award 2020

Blood & Sugar is the thrilling debut historical crime novel from Laura Shepherd-Robinson for fans of C. J. Sansom and Andrew Taylor.

June, 1781. An unidentified body hangs upon a hook at Deptford Dock - horribly tortured and branded with a slaver's mark.

Some days later, Captain Harry Corsham - a war hero embarking upon a promising parliamentary career - is visited by the sister of an old friend. Her brother, passionate abolitionist Tad Archer, had been about to expose a secret that he believed could cause irreparable damage to the British slaving industry. He'd said people were trying to kill him, and now he is missing . . .

To discover what happened to Tad, Harry is forced to pick up the threads of his friend's investigation, delving into the heart of the conspiracy Tad had unearthed. His investigation will threaten his political prospects, his family's happiness, and force a reckoning with his past, risking the revelation of secrets that have the power to destroy him.

And that is only if he can survive the mortal dangers awaiting him in Deptford . . .

'A brilliant book . . . Absolutely superb' James O'Brien

Shortlisted for the CWA New Blood Dagger 2019
Shortlisted for the CWA Historical Dagger 2019
Longlisted for the Theakston's Crime Novel of the Year 2020

More Information
Book publisherPan Macmillan
Publication date9 Jan 2020
FormatPaperback
Pages464
Write Your Own Review
You're reviewing:Blood & Sugar

Our pick of this month's best new books

Newsletter Fashion Box
WANT A DISCOUNT?