Delivery update

Please be aware that some orders may take a few days longer than normal to arrive. See our delivery FAQ for more details.

Hidden Valley Road

Robert Kolker

(author)

Hardback
The heartrending story of a midcentury American family with twelve children, six of them diagnosed with schizophrenia, that became science's great hope in the quest to understand the disease.
Not currently in stock, but more on the way
SKU
9781787473805
Price £17.40 RRP £20.00

Worldwide delivery available. Read more...

All UK orders sent via tracked delivery

Return purchased items within 30 days for a full refund.

"a tribute to our better natures"

The Guardian

Hidden Valley Road A01 By (author) N Robert Kolker 236 160 40 610 BB Hardback 400 Quercus Publishing Quercus Publishing London United Kingdom BGT Biography: science, technology & medicine VF Family & health MMH Psychiatry 1.3 DNC VF MKL Memoirs Family & health Psychiatry The heartrending story of a midcentury American family with twelve children, six of them diagnosed with schizophrenia, that became science's great hope in the quest to understand the disease. 12 children. 6 of them diagnosed with schizophrenia. Science's greatest hope in understanding the disease. ___________ *New York Times bestseller* *Selected as Oprah's Book Club Pick* 'Startlingly intimate' - The Sunday Times 'Grippingly told and brilliantly reported' - Mail on Sunday 'Unforgettable' - The Times 'Exceptional and moving' - the Spectator For fans of Educated, The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks and Three Identical Strangers Don and Mimi Galvin seemed to be living the American dream. After World War II, Don's work with the Air Force brought them to Colorado, where their twelve children perfectly spanned the baby boom: the oldest born in 1945, the youngest in 1965. In those years, there was an established script for a family like the Galvins - aspiration, hard work, upward mobility, domestic harmony - and they worked hard to play their parts. But behind the scenes was a different story: psychological breakdown, sudden shocking violence, hidden abuse. By the mid-1970s, six of the ten Galvin boys, one after the other, were diagnosed as schizophrenic. How could all this happen to one family? What took place inside the house on Hidden Valley Road was so extraordinary that the Galvins became one of the first families to be studied by the National Institutes of Mental Health. Their story offers a shadow history of the science of schizophrenia, from the era of institutionalization, lobotomy, and the schizophrenogenic mother, to the search for genetic markers for the disease, always amidst profound disagreements about the nature of the illness itself. And unbeknownst to the Galvins, samples of their DNA informed decades of genetic research that continues today, offering paths to treatment, prediction, and even eradication of the disease for future generations. With clarity and compassion, bestselling and award-winning author Robert Kolker uncovers one family's unforgettable legacy of suffering, love and hope. 'An extraordinary case study and tour de force of reporting' - Sylvia Nasar, author of A Beautiful Mind 'This book tore my heart out. It is a revelation-about the history of mental health treatment, about trauma, foremost about family-and a more-than-worthy follow-up to Robert Kolker's brilliant Lost Girls' -Megan Abbott, Edgar Award-winning author of Dare Me and Give Me Your Hand 'Hidden Valley Road contains everything: scientific intrigue, meticulous reporting, startling revelations, and, most of all, a profound sense of humanity. It is that rare book that can be read again and again' -David Grann, author of Killers of the Flower Moon Kolker is a fine writer and a first-class investigative journalist...this unforgettable book will surely increase people's understanding of a terrifying disorder. * The Times * A startlingly intimate account of a family ruptured from within by forces they could not control * The Sunday Times * An exceptional and moving dissection of what this means for those forced to live with the depredations of madness * the Spectator * Grippingly told and brilliantly reported * Mail on Sunday * grippingly told and brilliantly reported * Mail on Sunday * Robert Kolker is the New York Times bestselling author of Lost Girls, named one of the New York Times' 100 Notable Books and one of Publisher's Weekly's Top Ten Books of 2013. His magazine journalism most often takes the form of gripping, humane narratives. 09042020 02 RRP including tax GB GBP 20.00 0.00 20.00 This price includes a tax element GB 20 Available 10 BERT GARD Y

12 children.
6 of them diagnosed with schizophrenia.
Science's greatest hope in understanding the disease.
___________

*New York Times bestseller*

*Selected as Oprah's Book Club Pick*

'Startlingly intimate' - The Sunday Times

'Grippingly told and brilliantly reported' - Mail on Sunday

'Unforgettable' - The Times

'Exceptional and moving' - the Spectator

For fans of Educated, The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks and Three Identical Strangers

Don and Mimi Galvin seemed to be living the American dream. After World War II, Don's work with the Air Force brought them to Colorado, where their twelve children perfectly spanned the baby boom: the oldest born in 1945, the youngest in 1965. In those years, there was an established script for a family like the Galvins - aspiration, hard work, upward mobility, domestic harmony - and they worked hard to play their parts. But behind the scenes was a different story: psychological breakdown, sudden shocking violence, hidden abuse. By the mid-1970s, six of the ten Galvin boys, one after the other, were diagnosed as schizophrenic. How could all this happen to one family?

What took place inside the house on Hidden Valley Road was so extraordinary that the Galvins became one of the first families to be studied by the National Institutes of Mental Health. Their story offers a shadow history of the science of schizophrenia, from the era of institutionalization, lobotomy, and the schizophrenogenic mother, to the search for genetic markers for the disease, always amidst profound disagreements about the nature of the illness itself. And unbeknownst to the Galvins, samples of their DNA informed decades of genetic research that continues today, offering paths to treatment, prediction, and even eradication of the disease for future generations.

With clarity and compassion, bestselling and award-winning author Robert Kolker uncovers one family's unforgettable legacy of suffering, love and hope.

'An extraordinary case study and tour de force of reporting' - Sylvia Nasar, author of A Beautiful Mind

'This book tore my heart out. It is a revelation-about the history of mental health treatment, about trauma, foremost about family-and a more-than-worthy follow-up to Robert Kolker's brilliant Lost Girls'
-Megan Abbott, Edgar Award-winning author of Dare Me and Give Me Your Hand

'Hidden Valley Road contains everything: scientific intrigue, meticulous reporting, startling revelations, and, most of all, a profound sense of humanity. It is that rare book that can be read again and again'
-David Grann, author of Killers of the Flower Moon

More Information
Book publisherQuercus Publishing
Publication date9 Apr 2020
FormatHardback
Pages400
Write Your Own Review
You're reviewing:Hidden Valley Road
Newsletter Fashion Box
WANT A DISCOUNT?