The House of Government
The House of Government

The House of Government

A Saga of the Russian Revolution

Yuri Slezkine

(author)

Paperback
In stock
SKU
9780691192727
Price £19.36 RRP £22.00
 

In stock books shipped same day if you order before 2pm. Read more...

All UK orders sent via tracked delivery

Return purchased items within 30 days for a full refund.

Hope is Power tote bags The Guardian water bottle Steve Bell Brexit Day

The epic story of an enormous Soviet apartment building where Communist true believers lived before their destruction

The House of Government is unlike any other book about the Russian Revolution and the Soviet experiment. Written in the tradition of Tolstoy's War and Peace, Grossman's Life and Fate, and Solzhenitsyn's The Gulag Archipelago, Yuri Slezkine's gripping narrative tells the chilling true story of an enormous Moscow apartment building where Soviet leaders and their families lived until hundreds of these Bolshevik true believers were led, one by one, to prison or to their deaths in Stalin's purges. Drawing on letters, diaries, and interviews with survivors, and featuring hundreds of rare photographs, this epic story weaves together biography, literary criticism, architectural history, and fascinating new theories of revolutions, millennial prophecies, and reigns of terror. The result is an unforgettable saga of a building that, like the Soviet Union itself, became a haunted house, forever disturbed by the ghosts of the disappeared.

More Information
Book publisher Princeton University Press
Publication date 31 May 2019
Format Paperback
Pages 1128
Write Your Own Review
You're reviewing:The House of Government
Newsletter Fashion Box
WANT A DISCOUNT?