Delivery update

Please be aware that some orders may take a few days longer than normal to arrive. See our delivery FAQ for more details.

The House of Government

A Saga of the Russian Revolution

Yuri Slezkine

(author)

Paperback
The epic story of an enormous Soviet apartment building where Communist true believers lived before their destructionThe House of Government is unlike any other book about the Russian Revolution and the Soviet experiment. Written in the tradition of Tolstoy's War and Peace, Grossman's Life and Fate, and Solzhenitsyn's The Gulag Archipelago, Yur
Not currently in stock, but more on the way
SKU
9780691192727
Price £19.14 RRP £22.00

Worldwide delivery available. Read more...

Return purchased items within 30 days for a full refund.

"She has put us on notice that we talk about race by not talking about it"

The Guardian

The epic story of an enormous Soviet apartment building where Communist true believers lived before their destruction

The House of Government is unlike any other book about the Russian Revolution and the Soviet experiment. Written in the tradition of Tolstoy's War and Peace, Grossman's Life and Fate, and Solzhenitsyn's The Gulag Archipelago, Yuri Slezkine's gripping narrative tells the chilling true story of an enormous Moscow apartment building where Soviet leaders and their families lived until hundreds of these Bolshevik true believers were led, one by one, to prison or to their deaths in Stalin's purges. Drawing on letters, diaries, and interviews with survivors, and featuring hundreds of rare photographs, this epic story weaves together biography, literary criticism, architectural history, and fascinating new theories of revolutions, millennial prophecies, and reigns of terror. The result is an unforgettable saga of a building that, like the Soviet Union itself, became a haunted house, forever disturbed by the ghosts of the disappeared.

More Information
Book publisherPrinceton University Press
Publication date31 May 2019
FormatPaperback
Pages1128
Write Your Own Review
You're reviewing:The House of Government
Newsletter Fashion Box
WANT A DISCOUNT?