Thank you for shopping with us
every book you buy helps support our independent journalism

This Happy

Shortlisted for the An Post Irish Book Awards 2020

Niamh Campbell

(author)

Hardback
For readers of Eimear McBride, Anna Burns and Claire Louise Bennett, This Happy is a fervid, glowing-hot novel about relationships and the way the past informs the present from a hugely exciting new voice in contemporary literary fiction.
In stock
SKU
9781474611664
Price £13.04 RRP £14.99

Worldwide delivery available. Read more...

Return purchased items within 30 days for a full refund.

A pulse-racing journey through the science and politics of the pandemic

Chosen as a Guardian Book of the day

'A beautiful, wry love story' David Nicholls, author of ONE DAY

'I love this woman's writing. Golden sentences' Diana Evans, author of ORDINARY PEOPLE

'One of the year's most beautifully written books, THIS HAPPY traces the path to womanhood of Alannah from disastrous affair to no-less-comfortable marriage and beyond' The i, Best Books of 2020 So Far

'If you loved Sally Rooney's NORMAL PEOPLE, read this novel ... Darkly romantic ... Reminiscent of Eimear McBride's lyrical Joycean sentences' Vogue

'The best novel I have read all year' Sunday Business Post

I have taken apart every panel of this, like an ornamental fan. But we stayed in the cottage for three weeks only, just three weeks, because it was cut short you see - cut short after just three weeks, when I'd left my entire life behind.

When Alannah was twenty-three, she met a man who was older than her - a married man - and fell in love. Things happened suddenly. They met in April, in the first bit of mild weather; and in August, they went to stay in rural Ireland, overseen by the cottage's landlady.

Six years later, when Alannah is newly married to another man, she sees the landlady from afar. Memories of those days spent in bliss, then torture, return to her. And the realisation that she has been waiting - all this time - to be rediscovered.

More Information
Book publisherOrion Publishing Co
Publication date11 Jun 2020
FormatHardback
Pages320
Write Your Own Review
You're reviewing:This Happy

Explore the longlist for the Booker prize 2021

Newsletter Fashion Box
WANT A DISCOUNT?