Delivery update

Please be aware that some orders may take a few days longer than normal to arrive. See our delivery FAQ for more details.

The House at Bishopsgate

Katie Hickman

(author)

Paperback
In stock
SKU
9781408843338
£8.99

Worldwide delivery available. Read more...

Return purchased items within 30 days for a full refund.

"She has put us on notice that we talk about race by not talking about it"

The Guardian

From the Sunday Times bestselling author comes a haunting, magical story set in 17th century London, perfect for fans of Jessie Burton and Elif Shafak 1611. Celia Lamprey looks out across the rooftops of Aleppo for the last time. After ten years living in the Orient, she and her husband, Paul Pindar, are setting sail for England - taking with them the legendary diamond, the Sultan's Blue, despite the curse that surrounds it. They arrive to find a country much changed; Bishopsgate, once surrounded by fields, is now a muddy thoroughfare choked with carriages - from which carpenters, gardeners and footmen descend, summoned to restore Pindar's great house to its former splendour. But all is not as it seems. Celia is frail, and the marriage childless. Between the couple lies a great, unspoken darkness. Now, as they await the arrival of Celia's friend Annetta from Venice, another woman, the alluring widow Frances Sydenham, becomes increasingly indispensable to the running of the household - and the happiness of its inhabitants. But who is this strange woman, and what are her real motives? Vividly evoking Jacobean society, The House at Bishopsgate is a sumptuous, richly woven story of marital secrets and sexual jealousy, from a master of historical fiction.
More Information
Book publisherBloomsbury Publishing PLC
Publication date8 Feb 2018
FormatPaperback
Pages448
Write Your Own Review
You're reviewing:The House at Bishopsgate
Newsletter Fashion Box
WANT A DISCOUNT?