Thank you for shopping with us
every book you buy helps support our independent journalism

The Collected Stories of Shirley Hazzard

Shirley Hazzard


'Shirley Hazzard is, purely and simply, one of the greatest writers working in the English today' (Michael Cunningham). Now at last comes the first complete book of her short stories, including those previously uncollected.
In stock
Price £14.78 RRP £16.99

Worldwide delivery available.

Return purchased items within 30 days for a full refund.

The new updated edition of David Olusoga’s vital book on black British history

"Groundbreaking" – Observer

Collected Stories includes both volumes of National Book Award-winning author Shirley Hazzard's short story collections - Cliffs of Fall and People in Glass Houses - alongside uncollected works and two previously unpublished stories.

Twenty-eight works of short fiction in all, Shirley Hazzard's Collected Stories is a work of staggering breadth and talent. Taken together, Hazzard's short stories are masterworks in telescoping focus, 'at once surgical and symphonic' (New Yorker), ranging from quotidian struggles between beauty and pragmatism to satirical sendups of international bureaucracy, from the Italian countryside to suburban Connecticut.

In an interview, Hazzard once said, 'The idea that somebody has expressed something, in a supreme way, that it can be expressed; this is, I think, an enormous feature of literature'. Her stories themselves are a supreme evocation of writing at its very best: probing, uncompromising and deeply felt.

More Information
Book publisherLittle, Brown Book Group
Publication date26 Nov 2020
Write Your Own Review
You're reviewing:The Collected Stories of Shirley Hazzard

Brilliant books for Pride month

Newsletter Fashion Box