Thank you for shopping with us
every book you buy helps support our independent journalism

Widowland

C J Carey

(author)

Hardback
An alternative history with a strong feminist twist, perfect for fans of Robert Harris' Fatherland, Christina Dalcher's Vox and the dystopian novels of Margaret Atwood
In stock
SKU
9781529411980
Price £13.04 RRP £14.99

Worldwide delivery available. Read more...

Return purchased items within 30 days for a full refund.

A pulse-racing journey through the science and politics of the pandemic

Chosen as a Guardian Book of the day

'READING THIS TERRIFIC, ORWELLIAN NOVEL YOU ALMOST HOLD YOUR BREATH' Bel Mooney

An alternative history with a strong feminist twist, perfect for fans of Robert Harris' Fatherland,
Christina Dalcher's Vox and the dystopian novels of Margaret Atwood.

'A TRIUMPH' Amanda Craig
'CONVINCING AND GRIPPING' Elizabeth Buchan
'BRILLIANTLY IMAGINED' Clare Chambers
'TERRIFIC HEROINE' Adele Geras
'VIVIDLY IMAGINED' Nicci French

To control the past, they edited history. To control the future, they edited literature.

London, 1953, Coronation year - but not the Coronation of Elizabeth II.

Thirteen years have passed since a Grand Alliance between Great Britain and Germany was formalized. George VI and his family have been murdered and Edward VIII rules as King. Yet, in practice, all power is vested in Alfred Rosenberg, Britain's Protector. The role and status of women is Rosenberg's particular interest.

Rose Ransom belongs to the elite caste of women and works at the Ministry of Culture, rewriting literature to correct the views of the past. But now she has been given a special task.

Outbreaks of insurgency have been seen across the country; graffiti daubed on public buildings. Disturbingly, the graffiti is made up of lines from forbidden works, subversive words from the voices of women. Suspicion has fallen on Widowland, the run-down slums where childless women over fifty have been banished. These women are known to be mutinous, for they have nothing to lose.

Before the Leader arrives for the Coronation ceremony of King Edward and Queen Wallis, Rose must infiltrate Widowland to find the source of this rebellion and ensure that it is quashed.

'THE MOST IMPORTANT FEMINIST NOVEL IN DECADES' Jane Harris
'A VERY SMART REIMAGINED HISTORY' Henry Porter
'BRIMMING WITH CRACKLING DETAIL, A GRIPPING THRILLER' Miranda Carter

More Information
Book publisherQuercus Publishing
Publication date10 Jun 2021
FormatHardback
Pages400
Write Your Own Review
You're reviewing:Widowland

Explore the longlist for the Booker prize 2021

Newsletter Fashion Box
WANT A DISCOUNT?