Thank you for shopping with us
every book you buy helps support our independent journalism

And the Stars Were Burning Brightly

Danielle Jawando

(author)

Paperback
An extraordinary novel about loss, understanding and the importance of speaking up when all you want to do is shut down, from an incredible new talent, perfect for fans of Angie Thomas, Gayle Foreman, Jennifer Niven and Nikesh Shukla.
In stock
SKU
9781471178771
Price £7.43 RRP £7.99

Worldwide delivery available. Read more...

Return purchased items within 30 days for a full refund.

The Absolute Book by Elizabeth Knox

“An instant classic, a work to rank alongside other modern masterpieces of fantasy such as Philip Pullman’s His Dark Materials” – The Guardian

An extraordinary novel about loss, understanding and the importance of speaking up when all you want to do is shut down. From an incredible new talent, perfect for fans of Angie Thomas, Gayle Foreman, Jennifer Niven and Nikesh Shukla.

'An outstanding and compassionate debut' Patrice Lawrence

When fifteen-year-old Nathan discovers that his older brother Al, has taken his own life, his whole world is torn apart.

Al was special.

Al was talented.

Al had so many dreams ... so why did he do it?


Convinced that his brother was in trouble, Nathan decides to retrace Al's footsteps. As he does, he meets Megan, Al's former classmate, who is as determined as Nathan to keep Al's memory alive.

Together they start seeking answers, but will either of them be able to handle the truth about Al's death when they eventually discover what happened?

#BurnBright


'One of the brightest up and coming stars of the YA world' Alex Wheatle

'An utter page turner from a storming new talent. Passionate, committed and shines a ray of light into the darkest places - the YA novel of 2020!' Melvin Burgess

'Jawando's writing is incredibly raw and real; I felt completely immersed' Alice Oseman


Warning - this novel contains themes that some readers may find upsetting, including suicide and intense bullying.
More Information
Book publisherSimon & Schuster Ltd
Publication date5 Mar 2020
FormatPaperback
Pages400
Write Your Own Review
You're reviewing:And the Stars Were Burning Brightly

Save up to 15% in Nature and gardening season this April

Newsletter Fashion Box
WANT A DISCOUNT?