Scrublands

The stunning, Sunday Times Crime Book of the Year 2019

Chris Hammer

(author)

Paperback
A powerful, compelling, vividly written Australian crime novel, perfect for fans of Peter May and Jane Harper
In stock
SKU
9781472255143
Price £8.36 RRP £8.99

Worldwide delivery available. Read more...

Return purchased items within 30 days for a full refund.

Another Now
by Yanis Varoufakis

Save 15%

* * * WINNER OF THE CWA JOHN CREASEY DAGGER * * *

'Shimmers ... a tortured tale of blood and loss'
Val McDermid

'Stunning ... Scrublands is that rare combination, a page-turner that stays long in the memory' Sunday Times (Crime Book of the Month)

The #1 Bestselling Australian crime novel, perfect for fans of Peter May and Jane Harper

In an isolated country town ravaged by drought, a charismatic young priest opens fire on his congregation, killing five men before being shot dead himself.

A year later, journalist Martin Scarsden arrives in Riversend to write a feature on the anniversary of the tragedy. But the stories he hears from the locals don't fit with the accepted version of events.

Just as Martin believes he is making headway, a shocking discovery rocks the town. The bodies of two backpackers - missing since the time of the massacre - are found in the scrublands. The media descends on Riversend and Martin is the one in the spotlight.

Wrestling with his own demons, Martin finds himself risking everything to uncover a truth that becomes more complex with every twist. But there are powerful forces determined to stop him, and he has no idea how far they will go to make sure the town's secrets stay buried.

More Information
Book publisherHeadline Publishing Group
Publication date11 Jul 2019
FormatPaperback
Pages512
Write Your Own Review
You're reviewing:Scrublands

Choose a bestseller from the Guardian Bookshop

Newsletter Fashion Box
WANT A DISCOUNT?