The Library of Ice
The Library of Ice
New

The Library of Ice

Readings from a Cold Climate

Nancy Campbell

(author)

Paperback
A vivid and perceptive book combining memoir, scientific and cultural history with a bewitching account of landscape and place, which will appeal to readers of Robert Macfarlane, Roger Deakin and Olivia Laing.
In stock
SKU
9781471169342
Price £8.79 RRP £9.99
 

In stock items shipped same day if you order before 2pm. Read more...

All UK orders sent via tracked delivery

Return purchased items within 30 days for a full refund.

Radical tote bags Prisoners of Geography Shelf Improvement book subscriptions

`A wonderful book: Nancy Campbell is a fine storyteller with a rare physical intelligence. The extraordinary brilliance of her eye confers the reader a total immersion in the rimy realms she explores. Glaciers, Arctic floe, verglas, frost and snow - I can think of no better or warmer guide to the icy ends of the Earth' Dan Richards, author of Climbing Days
A vivid and perceptive book combining memoir, scientific and cultural history with a bewitching account of landscape and place, which will appeal to readers of Robert Macfarlane, Roger Deakin and Olivia Laing.

Long captivated by the solid yet impermanent nature of ice, by its stark, rugged beauty, acclaimed poet and writer Nancy Campbell sets out from the world's northernmost museum - at Upernavik in Greenland - to explore it in all its facets. From the Bodleian Library archives to the traces left by the great polar expeditions, from remote Arctic settlements to the ice houses of Calcutta, she examines the impact of ice on our lives at a time when it is itself under threat from climate change.

The Library of Ice is a fascinating and beautifully rendered evocation of the interplay of people and their environment on a fragile planet, and of a writer's quest to define the value of her work in a disappearing landscape.

`The writer and poet offers reflections on ice and snow that draw on art, science and history... a dreamlike book.' - The Guardian

`It is a sparkling and wonderful meditation on a substance we must cherish' - The Independent

`It is a pleasant brew infused with elements not only of travel and history, but also of memoir and personal reflection'- Literary Review

`Ms Campbell, a penniless but intrepid traveller, braves miserable bus journeys, freezing rain, dark and intense cold, but still manages to write rapturously of the beauties of the Arctic'- The Economist

More Information
Book publisher Simon & Schuster Ltd
Publication date 31 Oct 2019
Format Paperback
Pages 336
Write Your Own Review
You're reviewing:The Library of Ice
Newsletter Fashion Box
WANT A DISCOUNT?